Milestone Comics heroes Static, Icon, Rocket and Hardware are set to return to DC starting in April in the first wave of digital-first miniseries.

DC has revealed when fans of Milestone Comics will get to read the new adventures of their favorite superheroes like Static, Icon, Rocket and Hardware.

“Milestone Mondays” is a new digital publishing initiative kicking off the first wave of Milestone digital-first miniseries in April. Before that begins, Milestone Returns: Infinite Edition #0 will be released digitally on Feb. 26 with an “extended cut” of the Milestone Returns one-shot.

RELATED: Milestone Comics Now Available in DC’s Digital Library With Classic Series Collections

“Since the FanDome panel, Reggie [Hudlin], Denys [Cowan], and our editorial team have been working incredibly hard to bring this new Milestone to life,” said DC publisher and chief creative officer Jim Lee. “It’s been exciting to see fresh and contemporary takes on the Dakota universe coming together; I think that both new fans and old will be pleased with the results.”

Originally available only during 2020’s DC FanDome Hall of Heroes and Explore the Multiverse, Milestone Returns: Infinite Edition #0 is an updated edition that arrives in comic book stores on May 25. Milestone Returns: Infinite Edition #0 combines the original 17-page comic with an additional 24 pages of completely new material written by Reginald Hudlin and drawn by artists Denys Cowan, Nikolas Draper-Ivey, Bill Sienkiewicz and more.

The added content includes a retelling of the events of the Big Bang, the police-brutality protest that unleashed a sudden wave of superpowers in the city of Dakota. This $4.99 “director’s cut” also features content introducing the full new creative teams behind Static, Icon & Rocket and Hardware, the digital-first series spawned by this new Big Bang, along with a reveal of their issue #1 covers.

“The response from fans after the DC FanDome panel was overwhelming, and that makes this news even more exciting for Denys and me,” Hudlin said. “Introducing these ‘seasons’ of Static, Icon, Rocket, and Hardware is just the beginning. There will be more stories with these favorite characters to come, and fans will see appearances from the legendary Blood Syndicate, setting the stage for an explosive Milestone event later in the year.”

DC also teased the long-awaited launch of Earth M, a new line of comics conceived by Cowan and Hudlin, which will include the return of Duo, introduced to readers in Milestone Returns #0, and other characters who will also appear in Milestone comics.

Static is a six-issue digital-first series launching on Monday, April 12 for $3.99. The description of Virgil Hawkins’ new series reads, “In this monthly miniseries (20 pages per issue), bullied nerd Virgil is gifted with incredible electromagnetic powers in the wake of the Big Bang. Now he finds himself caught between an over-militarized police response to Black kids getting special abilities and some of those kids who are using those powers in dangerous and destructive ways. But when the bullies who terrorized him before the Big Bang show up with powers of their own, can Static be the hero that Dakota needs?”

Icon & Rocket debuts with a six-issue digital-first monthly series (20 pages) on June 21 for $3.99. The description of Augustus Freeman and Raquel Ervin’s new series reads, “What happens when superheroes actually make a difference? When Raquel Ervin broke into the home of a wealthy Black lawyer, she didn’t expect to learn that he was a nearly omnipotent alien, lost in despair of ever returning home—and he didn’t expect that she would inspire him to emerge from the shadows and become a force for change on the planet he’s trapped on. What starts out as a simple request to stop the drug trafficking in her neighborhood turns into a mission to eliminate the drug trade worldwide. However, this act of heroism has unexpected consequences, making the pair the two most wanted criminals in the world when actually stopping crime leads to the collapse of the global economy!”

Finally, Hardware returns with a six-issue digital-first monthly series on Aug. 23 for $3.99. It features the return of legendary artist and Milestone co-founder Denys Cowan with Bill Sienkiewicz on the character. The description of Curtis Metcalf’s new series reads, “All his life, young prodigy Curtis Metcalf was told he was special, and that he would save the world. But it turns out that Alva Industries wanted his beautiful mind for something a lot less noble than that—and his technology has made him the fall guy for the tragedy of the Big Bang. But Curtis is smart enough to not go out like that—and smart enough to steal his inventions back from Alva and start the process of remaking the world his way.”

“Bringing back Milestone and the Dakota universe with DC has been an amazing journey,” Cowan said. “Getting the chance to do Hardware again with Bill Sienkiewicz is a dream come true. It’s the book that Dwayne McDuffie and I did together at Milestone originally, and I’ve always felt a strong connection to Curtis Metcalf. We can’t wait to bring fans the new adventures of Hardware!”

KEEP READING: Icon: How Milestone’s Black Superman Influenced a Real Supreme Court Justice

Source: DC

Mister Sinister Mastermind X-Men

X-Men: Marvel’s Mutants Were Betrayed by One Of Their Own – Again

About The Author


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here